#1 ouch

ouch

Second Lieutenant

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 July 2008 - 01:18 AM

Hi all,

I have a old thrustmaster fcs and wcs Mk1 that I got second hand in a box of "junk". It did not have manuals and all the websites I have found have either been dead links or have conflicting information.

The joystick part (fcs) has a PS2 keyboard passthrough and a joystick port on the front while the wcs has a joystick plug on the end of the cable.

It would seem that I plug the wcs plug into the soundcard and the fcs into the keyboard PS2 motherboard port.

Set up like that the fcs joystick would not work and I cannot find how to connect this upto my computer.

I am running XPPro.

Yes I know it's a old stick but would like to get it going until I can afford something a bit better.

Any help or a scan of the manual would be much appreciated.

#2 The Dude

The Dude

Muhuhuhaha!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,831 posts
  • Interests:Krabby Patties

Posted 20 July 2008 - 12:13 AM

I think you plug the WCS Mk1 into the joystick.

Plug the joystick's PS2 plug into the PS2 port on the computer, then plug your keyboard into that.

Plug the joystick's gameport plug into the gameport on your sound card. If your sound card doesn't have a gameport on it, it might be in the box that came with your computer or sound card (sometimes the gameport is an optional addon that you can stick onto the sound card or just leave off).

Once you get everything plugged in, start your computer and go to the control panel and and click on "Game Controllers".

Click "Add" and choose a generic 3-axis 4-button joystick. Calibrate. You should be good to go. :thumbsup:

I hope I got that all correct...I'm totally going off memory ... and that's not all that great :lol:

Let us know if that works for you.

#3 mane_raptor

mane_raptor

General

• Charter Member
  • 10,760 posts
  • Location:Great North Woods, Maine, USA, Where Men are Men and Moose are nervous.