#1 USBP1969

USBP1969

Second Lieutenant

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 February 2012 - 06:23 PM

Howdy.

This is my first post as you might have guessed. I have been flying on-line combat flight sims since 1999, starting with Fighter Ace 1.5 and then Aces High, WarBirds and back to Aces High.

I am looking for two recommendations, if I may. They are:
1) Best on-line combat flight sim. (WW-II preferably)
2) Best "Boxed" stand alone combat flight sim. (WW-II preferably)

I asked about the latter because I am now a 24/7/365 caregiver for a bedridden wife who may require attention an any given time. Its really tough to be a in a dog fight and have to suddenly leave. I really enjoy "Aces High," but the off-line simulation is very limited and that's where I need to be a lot of the time. Thanks.

Respectfully,
USBP1969

#2 The Dude

The Dude

Muhuhuhaha!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,897 posts
  • Interests:Krabby Patties

Posted 26 February 2012 - 09:37 AM

Aces High, although I haven't played it in a long time, was always the best online WWII flight sim in my books. Hands down, the best boxed WWII flight sim is IL-2:1946. You'll want the community mod called Ultra Pack for IL-2 because it takes an already great sim and really makes it shine.

#3 USBP1969

USBP1969

Second Lieutenant

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 February 2012 - 04:05 PM

Thanks Dude. AH is outstanding, IMO, just very limited for off-line flying.

How do the flight models compare between AH and IL2 1946 as far as realism goes and are the AI enemy fighter pilots' skill levels adjustable in IL-2?

"Strike Fighter" looks good, but requites Vista or Windows 7. I ordered my PC with XP Pro on purpose when there was no Windows 7.

-kent

#4 The Dude

The Dude

Muhuhuhaha!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,897 posts
  • Interests:Krabby Patties

Posted 27 February 2012 - 12:03 AM