COMBATSIM Forum
swimbody

Should I purchase?

Howdy folks, first time poster.  I am an experienced real world pilot, no dog fighting though.  I have 5500 hours or so of real flight experience and I am enjoying the minimal WW2 area within DCS World.  It's minimal but enjoyable manipulating controls the real way one would in "real" life approximately.

With that said I watched a good "latest" review of the best flight battle simulations out there.  DCS was tops followed by War Thunder and then IL-2 and then a few others like RoF followed.  I've played War Thunder and while it is fun to keep battling over and over and over on the hardest settings the sim offers I find that over time this is losing its interest for me.  I love to manipulate controls, I like being accountable for cowl flap settings and overheating an engine in a climb etc.  

It seems IL-2 might supply that depth of realism for me...perhaps not, thus my community query.  I appreciate any suggestions you can provide to sway me to purchase the stand alone version vs Steam.  I forgot to mention I am a VR Oculus Rift S user and love the immersion for spotting landings, reference in ground effect, spotting bogeys etc.  Thanks

Hi swimbody,

I saw your post on the ED forums.  Another VP guy, right?  I was VP-40 out of Whidbey.