IL2 4.01m

neddie seagoon

Is it just me or this thing a LOT harder to fly?

I been trying to shoot some carrier landings and I manage about 1 in 3 attempts.

I qualified no problem with the old flight model.

I'm not an aerospace engineer, but I am an engineer, and something's just not right. If I was the controls guy from Vought and built an airplane that flew like this, I'd shoot myself in the head.

OK that wasn't exactly constructive criticism. Lets try this. Inertia is not properly modeled. I've never seen an airplane bounce the way this Corsair does in response to control inputs. When a pitch command is input, the aircraft starts to move about the pitch axis, when the input is removed, the airplane is supposed to stop rotating. Perhaps it will continue to rotate some, but the motion should smoothly come to a stop. A 9000 pound airplane will NOT hunt for attitude like this one does.

This is just frustrating as the math is not at all complicated. Hmm, that last sentance has got me thinking. I'll bet it's not an inertia problem. That would suggest a problem in the data and that doesn't seem likely. Especially since it's not just the Corsair that bounces, it's all the airplanes. I'm thinking it's the numerical method he's using to solve the governing equations. Something as simple as using too big a time step could cause this "hunting" effect. Classic underdamped differential equation. Sure would like to have a look at what's going on. Bet I could fix it. :P

Right. That feels better. I'll stop whining now and learn to deal with it, but geez, it just doesn't have to be this way.