Time for a New Gaming Rig

Joker

Okay, so I've been stuffing away the spare pennies for lo these many months. Now I've about saved up enough for a dedicated gaming rig.

Rather than build a rig myself, I'm considering letting one of these "boutique" builders put it together for me, like IBuyPower or Monarch. The objective is to get something that's endlessly upgradable (versus a Dell box, for instance).

My budget is around $1,500. I'd prefer to stick with Intel and NVidia, out of habit. I'll be using a KVM switch to route the new rig through my present keyboard, monitor, and mouse, so I won't be needing those interface components.

• Any suggestions on processors, motherboards, PC vendors, stuff like that?
  • Any technology I might want to wait for, or stay away from?

Thanks for any suggestions, guys!

First, Have you looked at the stuff we wrote for Paddles over at the Hardware and Controllers Forum?

Second Go with AMD/NVidia, the Athlon 64's leave the P4's in the dust.

Third, why not build it yourself, it's cheaper and what you don't use paying for labor, you can put into a heckva rig.

I just PMed you...

after shipping on individual parts I found that I would not save as many pennys as I thought... so I let them have the headache and got a system from Monarch

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Deacon,

Can you pass along Monarch's web site. Working on Paddles' spec has got me thinking about replacing pit 2's PC.

Thanks

First, Have you looked at the stuff we wrote for Paddles over at the Hardware and Controllers Forum?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Doh! Forgot about that forum, will look! :blush:

Second Go with AMD/NVidia, the Athlon 64's leave the P4's in the dust.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Well, why not? It is a gaming rig, after all. Might was well try something new. Any compatibility problems with certain software or games, though?

Third, why not build it yourself, it's cheaper and what you don't use paying for labor, you can put into a heckva rig.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>